Iceland Mag

10 Reykjavik

Iceland Mag

Culture

Yoko Ono's Imagine Peace Tower to light in Viðey island tonight

By Staff

  • Imagine Peace Tower The tower is lit kept lit every year from October 9th, Lennon’s birthday, through December 8th, the date he was shot, and on special occcasions as tonight. Photo by Imagine Peace Tower Instagram account.

Yoko Ono's Imagine Peace Tower in Viðey island just offshore Reykjavík will be lit tonight at 20.30 (8.30pm) in memoriam of chlldren that have died in the Israeli-Palestinian conflict.

Imagine Peace Tower is an artwork created by Yoko Ono and dedicated to the universal struggle for peace, as embodied by her late husband John Lennon. The tower is located on an islands on Kollafjörður Bay which is a short sail from Reykjavík. The name is a reference to Lennon's song "Imagine". 

The monument consists of a white wishing well with the words ‘Imagine Peace’ carved in 24 different languages. 15 searchlights are powered by Iceland’s plentiful geothermal energy and pour a stream of light up to and into cloud cover. On a clear night, the beams can reach up to 4,000 meters into the sky. 

Yoko Ono At the 2007 opening. Photo/Vilhelm Gunnarsson

The tower is kept lit every year from October 9, Lennon’s birthday, through 8 December, the date he was shot, as well as on New Year’s day, the first day of spring and special occasions as tonight. It was first lit in 2007.

In a statment on her website Yoko Ono said "As all of us are devastated by the loss of so many lives of innocent children in the Israeli/Palestinian conflict, I will be lighting Imagine Peace Tower on Thursday 7th August, hoping that such violence will stop immediately."

There are daily ferry depart­ures to Viðey island from Skarfabakki pier, Harpa and Ægis­garður pier. See schedule on videy.com

There will be a live broadcast from the event on at  imaginepeacetower.com at these times:

20:30 – 05:30 Reykjavik
21:30 – 06:30 London & Liverpool
22:30 – 07:30 Hamburg
16:30 – 01:30 New York
13:30 – 22:30 Los Angeles
05:30 – 14:30 Tokyo

Related content

Editor's Picks